The success of local groups at this year’s Beautiful Scotland Awards has been celebrated in the Scottish Parliament.

Martin Whitfield MSP has tabled a parliamentary motion congratulating all of the South Scotland groups that won awards or certificates this year. The motion also acknowledges East Lothian Council, which was another of those recognised.

Martin Whitfield MSP said:

“Local bloom groups have excelled again at this year’s Beautiful Scotland Awards, winning various awards and certificates. I’m pleased to help celebrate their outstanding success with this parliamentary motion. 

“I also congratulate all of the volunteers involved in local groups on this recognition of their dedicated efforts to keep our communities looking their best.”

The full motion is as follows:

Title: 2023 Beautiful Scotland Award Winners

Motion Text:

That the Parliament welcomes the success of groups and local authorities from the South Scotland region in the 2023 Beautiful Scotland Awards; notes that this year’s winners included North Berwick in Bloom, which won The Rosebowl, Coastal Town Trophy and VisitScotland Award for Tourism, Brighten Up Kirkconnel, which won the Small Village Award and Community Involvement Award, Lauder in Bloom, which won the Small Village Trophy and David Welch Memorial Award for Something Special – Keep Scotland Beautiful Award, Eyemouth Enhancement Group, which won the Jim Murdie Award for Sustainability and Young People Award, Blooming Haddington, which won the Haddington 700 Award, and East Lothian Council, which won the Royal Caledonian Horticultural Society Award; further notes the award of Gold Certificates to Blooming Haddington, Brighten up Kirkconnel, Eyemouth Enhancement Group, Lauder in Bloom and North Berwick in Bloom, a Silver Gilt Certificate to Flourishing Forth, and Certificates of Recognition to Aberlady in Bloom, Dunbar in Bloom, Keeping Duns Blooming Marvellous and The People’s Project Dumfries, and congratulates all of the award winners and the other nominees on their outstanding contributions to making their local communities more attractive places to live and visit.